Month: August 2011

  • Halloween mini-session

    If you are interested in a Halloween mini-session please let me know asap.  These session will be at the cemetery.  It’s not creepy, I promise, but if you think it is, this is not for you.  If I get enough people interested I will schedule those asap.  fotobydeedra@aol.com or 631-4879

  • Fall 2012

     I don’t know about you, but I am above and beyond ready for Fall.  We finally have all the baseball and football game times and I am ready to start booking appts.  Saturdays are next to impossible to get you in until Novemberish because of all the October weddings!!!!! and the games, I do have some Sunday times left after booking the waiting list families, but those Sundays are going to go fast.  I will work around Thanksgiving.  Those appts. will be $100 and are 1 hour only and at a location of my choice.  All sitting fees for other appts. are $50 unless you get the chance at a mini-session.  If you are wanting Christmas cards only from your session, let me know that and if I get enough people I will try to do a mini-session day. 

    I just found a great location this morning, but it won’t be around for long if it rains (that made me giggle a little), so I am looking for an outgoing, maybe a little bit crazy, family who can be ready for photos immediately.  I honestly would like to do the appt. tonight if possible.  This appt. is for you if you meant to get a more “summery” feel with your pictures this year.  I would suggest fun summer clothes and flip flops.  This location is a little off the beaten path so please do not inquire if you can’t take the heat or maybe a critter or two running across your path.  If this appt. goes as I believe it will I will definitely be scheduling some kids mini-sessions there soon.  Call me if you are interested in this appt.  631-4879.  There is a sitting fee for this appt. even though I am asking you to volunteer.  The sitting fee will make sure the family is serious about the session.  $50.

    More basic photography classes will be coming up soon also.  If you are signed up for the class tomorrow night and you can not make it, please let me know, because there are a lot of people who would be happy to take your spot.

    I am expecting this fall to be very different.  Very different because of the drought situation we are in.  We usually don’t get much of a fall as it is, but this year we may not have any color change because everything has been dead all summer.  So, I will try to be as creative as possible, but please understand there’s not much I can do about how it looks out there.

    I am doing fewer weddings these days…and I am liking it a lot.  I still love weddings, and want to photograph some, but every weekend away from my family is not an option.  No, I am not cheap.  If you want cheap photography please don’t even call me.  I have too much experience, too much equipment and too much overhead to be nickel and dimed.  And believe me if you can afford photography you should not be trying to go the cheap route on it.  You will regret it.  Your photographs are ALL YOU HAVE LEFT after your wedding to remember it by.  Your cake in the freezer a year later is going to taste like crap, your dress is going to be in a box in your closet, and your photographs are going to be around forever for your children and grandchildren to look at and enjoy while you are here and after you are gone.  Sorry, but that is how I see it, and that is what I hear all the time from past brides and grooms and their families. 

    Seniors…I’m doing less weddings and that leaves more time for you!!!!!  All Senior sessions in September are $12!  1.5 hour session and as many clothing changes and locations as we can fit in!  And for every friend you refer to me you get 1 free 4×6 or 12 wallets.   

    I think that is all for now.  I hope everyone was outside this morning and felt that cool breeze that was blowing for just a little bit.  Fall is coming and I can’t wait!

     

  • this is for Sharon

    Has anyone missed this besides Sharon?  Can’t believe I haven’t put anything on here since June!  Crazy fast summer just got away from me.  I wanted to post on here today to make sure everyone can see that I’m taking a little break.  The office will be closed from August 4th to August 22nd.  Hopefully when we get back this heat will be on its way out.  I am not scheduling any fall sessions until I return.  I am still waiting on some type of football schedule for Mav and Garrett’s machine pitch schedule too.  When I get back I will first schedule the people on the waiting list and then I will schedule whatever else is left.  I have 4 weddings in October and all those games, so Saturdays are probably out for at least September and October.  Sunday appts. will go fast and be limited.  I would take a weekday appt though.  You don’t have to share me with anyone else on weekdays! 

    Now for those of you who are getting engaged.  2012 is getting booked up and wedding prices will be going up pretty soon after I get back, so get in here and get your contracts and retainers squared away!  Most months I won’t do more than 2 weddings.  There’s a new bride in town and she is researching photographers a lot differently than brides in the past.  So here’s the lowdown on me.  I have 11 years experience, 5 years of training, all my own equipment (lots of it and plenty of backup equipment too), there’s more but I will save that for your consultation. 

    Now just because I hate all the talk and no action.  Here are some pics I took of Miss Lyla this morning.  I think I was boring her because she slept the whole time!

    001

    002

    003

    004

    005

    006

    007

    008

    009

    Enjoy the rest of your summer!  Stay cool and PRAY for RAIN!